NaNoWriMo Club?

I’m thinking of working with a teacher to start a NaNo club, or at least a writing club, at school. Is there anything like this where any of you are? If so how do they work? Any tips and tricks on bringing more people in?

3 Likes

This sounds so cool and I hope that there would be some kind of long term writing club as well. I have no experience of starting one but I think that a great start would be to make it easily accessible.

1 Like

I’m a co-founder of a writing group. I’d be happy to offer a few suggestions. Here’s a few to consider:

Will the group focus on creative writing (both fiction and non-fiction)? Or, will it focus on helping people with their writing skills?
Will the members offer in-meeting critiques? Our group does not. We only give positive feedback. If someone specifically asks for critiques, then we will.
As the founder, what do you want from a writing group? Your goal may be helpful in deciding the goal for the group. (And you’ll have at least one interested/satisfied member!)
Write up a set of rules for the group, including the meeting format, respect for other members, etc.

Hope these ideas help give you a starting point.

1 Like