Hopeless in Forums

I have no idea what I’m doing here! Using the forums that is. My expertise in this milieu is zero. I’m pretty hopeless and this is usually where I give up and withdraw from interacting!! Hopefully, this appears in the Newbies Forum and someone reads it!! I really do want to make an effort to interact this year. I want to get proficient and overcome the nervousness I feel when entering these virtual places!
Hello!!
It seems I’ve started a new topic. No idea if that’s what I’m supposed to be doing (see what I mean about being hopeless) to introduce myself.
Please let me know if I’ve got this wrong. I’ve never used forums before. They freak me out. The last time I wrote in a forum was when I first joined Nano - years ago. I’m going to persevere this time.
Wish me luck. LOL!!

12 Likes

To be honest, this is my first proper time in a forum too :sweat_smile: the only advice I can offer is to just take your time to look around, see what conversations are happening and just chip in. There’s no pressure here, we’re all here to have fun and chat about the things we enjoy :blush:

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

There’s nothing to be afraid of, my experience is that most people are very helpful and welcoming on the NaNo boards.
Maybe for starters it’s best to check out your genre lounge (if you know what you’re writing already) to find writers with similar questions, interests and problems. Or any other kind of writing group (be it age groups or whatever. Or regions, once they’re up).
Forum games (edit: in the “diversion and procrastionation” section) could also be a good place to start, since it somehow gamifies replying and interacting which might minimize nervousness and anxiety.
Also, it’s perfectly fine just to lurk and be a read-only forum user, no pressure (I lurked for months before I even had the courage to sign up but that was ages ago xD).

Good Luck! :)6

2 Likes