Considering a Cookbook -- Anyone Else?

Sunday morning, while my sister and I were preparing for our mother’s 80th birthday party, I thought that I could easily collect several dozen recipes and ideas – including a veggie pinwheel we invented that morning – for party trays and make a Party Tray cookbook.

You see, my mother once ran a hotel’s Banquet and Catering department, my sister is known for her Game Day parties and works as a baker, my daughter-in-law did some catering before her health deteriorated and I don’t blink at the prospect of feeding 15 people on 2 hours’ notice, have a housekeeping column in a local newspaper, and work in a deli. I can do food for entertaining without having to think twice.

Of course all the information about querying agents, etc. that I’ve been accumulating for The Wyndham Papers is useless for a cookbook.

Any others around here with food-related writing on their minds?

4 Likes

Tossing title possibilities off the top of my head: Practical Party Trays Family Favorite Party Trays (edited)

50 (40?) Fresh Party Trays (edited)

Or, a little more broadly, Easy Entertainment: Buffets, Platters, and Party Trays .

1 Like

Awesome idea! We need more party food cookbooks. Titles: Party Palette? Or Party Palate?

I did a family cookbook (called Stewed Monkey Heads and other family favorites), filled with family anecdotes and recipes stretching back 8 generations. The hardest part was translating the oldest recipes and formatting everyone’s unique style of recipe writing into one cohesive format.

I’m considering a follow-up, but this one will just be the foods I fed my children as they grew up. Formatting will be easier. I’m calling it Shrunken Head Pies and more family favorites.

3 Likes

I’ve been pondering the idea for some time now. I’d like to gather my moms recipes, many of which span 3 generations, and place them in a book. I need to do it soon with her failing eye sight. It would be a good gift for the family.

4 Likes