Author Website

I want to create an author website. Not sure if it’s worth the effort and money, though, especially since I have no published work so far. Would be nice to have an online presence when I do want to sell some stories.

Should I focus solely on having social media accounts (I have a Facebook page that I’m considering revamping), or put my energy into both a website and social media?

For those with websites, what platforms do you use to create yours? There’s a lot of options out there, so it’d be nice to narrow them down to a few. I’m not a complete computer dunce (I majored in multimedia design, which included coding websites and wordpress, etc.), but the less time I have to spend on building a website, the more time I have to devote to writing. and I’m lazy

2 Likes

I use Wix for my author website. I made mine very simple because all it is is an information holder, basically. It’s just something I can direct people to if they need information on me. I wouldn’t put much effort into a site until you need to. As for social media, I find it helpful to focus on just one. I’ve just started a twitter, so that’s what I’m focused on right now.

2 Likes

It’s worth it as a central hub for self-promotion and social media presence. And these days, template sites are pretty easy to come by, so you can have a working website that’ll do what you need it to in like, an hour or less. So you know.

3 Likes

In terms of which platform to use, it really depends on which building experience you want to have. Wix.com is pure drag and drop, which can become a hassle quite quickly I’ve found.

Weebly.com is also drag and drop, but less finicky.

Wordpress.com (not .org) is basic and can work. And you can easily connect your feed for people to subscribe to via the Wordpress platform.

Squarespace.com (which you’ve probably heard of if you listen to any podcast) is very much template based, so less hassle. Just pick the sections you want on your page and voilà!